I write reviews now and then and I just finished writing one on Trip Advisor. There are several reasons I choose to spend some time this way. Firstly, like many people, I often read reviews before buying things, selecting restaurants or selecting hotels. Reviews are free and I like to contribute. Secondly, I’m not a bot (I can’t be as I’ve passed most CAPCHA tests!) nor do I receive any incentive to write reviews so mine are authentic. For the other side of the story, see How to spot fake reviews on Amazon, Best Buy, Walmart and other sites or search for other stories about fake reviews. Thirdly, I want to share good news. Friendly staff, great food, interesting venues, and good quality products deserve to be celebrated. And finally, I like to provide feedback where there is room for improvement. It’s easy to criticize but the value is in offering something concrete that can make a difference. Yesterday, we had an awkward meal as we watched a passive-aggressive, albeit busy waitress send customers away instead of welcoming them to wait for a table. I had some observations I felt were important to share and offered a suggestion for improvement (staffing appropriately). Maybe I can make a difference for that restaurant. I encourage everyone to take a few minutes and write a review now and then. It isn’t hard to do.