Interesting experience today booking a flight within NZ. I needed to add a leg to our return trip to get from Christchurch to Auckland so I called the Air New Zealand (ANZ) call centre. My hope was to have our bags checked through to home but that wasn’t possible. Their cost was higher than that being offered by Expedia and when I told that to the operator, she said I could book there if I preferred but to ensure the cost included luggage. She also said Air NZ charges $15 CAD per person to book via telephone and that I could save that fee by booking online at their website. After checking into the luggage allowance, I ended up booking via the ANZ website with 3 checked bags and seats selected in the emergency row where I get more legroom. I decided it was best to allow for an extra bag of up to 23 kg for our return; you never know what we will pick up on this adventure!